Stitching Santa 2017

This post is way overdue but I want to share some pretty amazing stuff that happened with me during the holidays. I can’t believe it has been almost two months since I last posted anything! I’ll get to the bottom of why is that later but for now I would like to concentrate on my Stitching Santa experiences!

Stitching Santa is a gift swap between bloggers who are like-minded and crazy about either sewing or crocheting and is organized by the wonderful Sheila who is blogging under the name sewchet. (Check her blog out, you won’t regret it!) I signed up in 2016 for the first time and I couldn’t wait for my second run last year.

First I received the name of Tialys by email and I was supposed to send her a parcel that she would hopefully like. I collected some information about her on her blog and her Etsy Shop then I came up with a few ideas. Here are the things I created and selected for her in one picture:

She already posted a very lovely post about this parcel, so if you are interested in the details, head over to her blog and check it out there!

I would like to add that I felt a connection with her right after I read her “About page” and it wasn’t really difficult to come up with gift ideas after that. I don’t know how Sheila does this but last year I had a very similar experience and it is truly amazing!

Now, I would like to tell you about the parcel I was lucky to receive. It came already 5-6 days before Christmas and it was very difficult to keep my hands off of it and not open it! But then I did wait and opened it only when all the other presents were opened and the kids were already in bed. It was late in the evening and the box contained two letters: the first one with instructions to enjoy the hot chocolate whilst opening the other presents. Well, it was easy to follow and I did enjoy it!

The parcel came from Pippa (who blogs over here!) and contained great collection of “rainbow fabrics” which came from Pippa’s Grandmother’s stash. You already know how much I love and appreciate my family and this present showed me that Pippa does too! She didn’t want to go these beautiful fabrics to go to waste just because she couldn’t use them, so she rather gave them to me. I promise to find a great project for them in honor of her Grandma.

Pippa also made a cute pin cushion and a matching snips pouch from leather. I appreciate this piece of present a lot because my snips were totally ruined and I needed a good one desperately! And this pouch is working very well with it!

Some tea was included which I also like and the best fudge that I ever had! It was apparently made by Pippa herself! It was sooo good! I need your recipe!

The buttons also came from her Grandmother’s stash and meant to be used in my Alzheimer blankets. They sure will receive a place on one! (I’ll tell you about these blanket projects in a separate post!)

The yellow-white project bag is also made by Pippa and is just perfect!

The green stone cecklace is made from a sea glass that was collected from the beach in Barbados when Pippa worked there. She wasn’t sure if I like to where such jewellery but I want to assure her that I do! I also love green and it fits perfectly into my jewellery collection!

Finally there was a hand-knitted hat that is already in use!

I feel like I have to be honest here. I was pretty tired when I got to open my parcel and when I am exhausted I tend to be very emocional and cry a lot. Maybe because of that, maybe because of Pippa’s very lovely and friendly letter but I was crying when I was done opening everything. I love every piece of this parcel and it made me so happy that someone who doesn’t even really know me made such effort and put so much thought into it! It amazes me and I thank you, Pippa, and you, Sheila, who made this happy experience in my life possible!
I can’t wait to sign up for Stitching Santa 2018!