Green Summer Tunic

As you may have noticed my last post came out about a month ago which does not mean that I gave up sewing! Oh, no! Only I haven’t really been in the mood for writing. I don’t know what it is with me because I love sewing so much and I am always busy working on at least a couple of projects. There are a few distractions in my life right now and they make it hard to concentrate on the this blog. Anyway, I am proud to present a beautiful green summer tunic to you that I made!

For this dress I used the pattern which came in my stitching Santa parcel: From The Craft Network (The Eva Collection) CNS03. Thanks again, Ali (blogger from the Thimberlina) for this present! (It’s the blue one in the middle:)

I chose the short sleeve version and bought a beautiful green and black jersey fabric. I was really scared because my last attempt to make a jersey dress gave me a lot of head ache but this time I bought new needles and everything went smoothly.

Except for one thing: the dress didn’t fit me even though I made some adjustments to the pattern after measuring myself. This is something that I need to practice more: adjusting a pattern because I am clearly not a confection size. Especially not after giving birth to my kids… Usually I need pants and skirts in size 38 but my upper body is only size 34/36. I wonder if there is anybody who fits perfectly to the confection sizes? Or we need to shape ourselves nowadays to the clothes we can buy? Thank God that I found sewing!
So this is how the dress hang on me after finishing it:

It was awful but I didn’t give up just yet. Instead I turned it inside out and pinned where it needed altering. I took in quiet some on the side seam and a bit under the bust.

I also added a ribbon and two loops on the sides to keep that from sliding down.

The side openings and hems looks perfect this time which makes me very happy! I made some progress in jersey sewing!

Unfortunately I deleted somehow most of the pictures that were taken of me (by a dear friend, thanks again, Gabi!) but luckily I still got the best one:

I made this dress in the hope we can make it to Barcelona with my Husband this summer. We’ll celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and we would like to leave the kids at my Parents’ and have a short getaway on our own. Let’s cross the fingers and hope that no one will get sick and our trip will not get cancelled! Especially because this dress deserves to be worn in Barcelona! Don’t you agree?

Leave a Reply

