Cat Skirt

My nice had recently her 5th birthday and even though they live in an other country, I thought that she would appreciate a little present from us. Sadly I don’t know her very well because they live so far but then I thought a little girl could never resist a new skirt! She also likes animals, so let’s combine this two information! This is how I came up with the idea of the “cat skirt”, as I call it.

dsc_4189
I found just enough blue fabric for the skirt in my stash, a deep green stretchy fabric for the waist and a matching green cotton fabric for the cat-ears and for the bottom of the skirt. I didn’t even have to get out of the house and I had everything at hand what I needed. Isn’t that just great?
macskaszoknyaFirst I sewed on the green bottom and a black rick rack which will match perfectly with the eyes and noses of the cats.

dsc_4193The next step was to make the two pockets: hand-stitching the mouth, nose and the button-eyes.

dsc_4191

Then I added the ears by using applique technique, and only then the cat-pockets. After that I sewed together the whole skirt and attached the waist.

dsc_4194

The final step was to hand stitch the whiskers which was tricky and of course I sewed the pocket to the skirt once while making the whiskers. But I kept my calm and reached for the seam rippers…

dsc_4190I cross my fingers and hope that the skirt will actually fit her and she will like it! I made this skirt with so much love and I think it turned out very cute.

8 thoughts on “Cat Skirt

Leave a Reply

