Cell Phone Case With Tutorial

dsc_3923

You guys probably remember that a couple of weeks ago we celebrated my birthday. As it happens I asked my Husband for a new cell phone as a present because I needed one and I just hate useless presents… Anyway I got one smart phone and I am still getting used to it. Unfortunately I am not very talented when it comes to gadgets but my Husband is and he usually helps me very patiently. So, thanks to him for that!
Funny thing though, when he gave me the box and I opened it, he said: “now you have to sew a nice case for it because I didn’t dare to buy one for you!” And those were my exact thoughts, too! 😀
Last weekend I searched for some inspiration and I found this iPhone case. It has everything what I desire: a button with a loop and a small pocket. But I didn’t like very much the fabric and I wanted to use some of my blue prints and perhaps to funk it up a little with a bright polka dot green fabric. It sounded crazy at first but then I found the matching fabrics in my stash and started right away!
So here are the steps:

Step nr 1: I prepared the pocket and the loops: one for the button and one for the buckle:

DSC_3897Step nr 2: I cut out the body of the phone case twice. (Since every phone varies in size, you’ll have to figure out the right size for your phone if you want to make a case like this.) Added interfacing on one. Cut the batting as well.
DSC_3900

Step nr 3: I folded up the bottom of the pocket and sewed onto one of the green fabrics right in the middle.

DSC_3901Step nr 4: I folded the pocket into the right position and pinned it down. I also pinned the loop for the button on and the loop with the buckle on.

Phone Case-001Step nr 5: Then I layered the other green fabric onto the whole thing (right sides facing each other!) and pinned all layers together. Pay attention when you do this, this is a little tricky!

DSC_3910Step nr 6: Sew around the edges with small seam allowance and leave a 3-4cm wide hole in your seam. This is where you’ll turn the whole thing inside out.

Phone Case-002I added an extra seam at the loops to secure them even more. Then I cut off the corners.

Step nr 7: Turn it over and with some spray fabric adhesive add the layer of batting. DSC_3916Step nr 8: Turn it inside out and very carefully poke the corners. Now press it and hand-stitch the hole.

DSC_3918It looks quiet good at this point and it’s almost done!
Step nr 9: Fold it in half and sew together the sides as close to the edge as possible. If you want you can even hand-stitch at this point. Maybe add some decorative stitching if you prefer.

Step nr 10: Add the button. I had some trouble of choosing the right button: these were my three options:

Phone Case

After much consideration I choose the beige button although I was leaning towards the green button but then I didn’t like the fact that the color of the button and the fabric didn’t match perfectly. The withe one was just too big, so I landed on the beige button.

dsc_3922

I am pretty happy with my new cell phone and its case. I like how it turned out and I love the way I was able to use the traditional Hungarian blue print fabric again and it is not at all boring old “souveniery”. phone-case-003

I find the blue print quiet funky paired with the green polka dots. And it is also practical: there is room for the ear plugs in the pocket. What do you think?

dsc_3932

2 thoughts on “Cell Phone Case With Tutorial

Leave a Reply

