Bedroom makeover

A couple of weeks ago I had a crazy idea: surprise my husband and paint a wall in our bedroom while he is at a meeting in Antwerp. Actually we talked about this a few months back but we never did anything about it and just forgot it. I needed some help, so I called a dear friend and she even came with me to buy all the supplies and paint, and then I hid all the stuff in my son’s wardrobe. Clever, right?
The next day we droped off our son at day care, had breakfast together then I doped off my husband at his workplace (he was leaving for the meeting from there). After that I got home very quickly and started to prepare the room. I was already busy pushing furniture around and taping the walls, when I realized that I didn’t take a “before picture”. So here is the one where you can see, that all of our furniture in the bedroom and the walls were white.

IMGP7220

Very boring and this is the main reason why I wanted to paint but decided not to paint the whole room, just one wall.

Next day my friend came over and we had lots of fun painting, some challenges, as well, but after all we were done by noon. And voila!

IMGP7241

 

 

IMGP7247

 

I was very proud of the work we did but something was still missing. Yes, some kind of a wall art above the bed.
The next day I cleaned up the whole room and around 9pm my husband came home. I was a bit nervous but he absolutely loved it! Thank God!
And he also had a great idea: somewhere at my parents’ we had a beautiful painting of sunflowers, that we got as a wedding present from one of my husband’s friends but we never had a proper place to hang it. And finally we did! Six years of waiting, but worth it! Take a look:

IMGP7594

 

IMGP7604Much better, right? Thanks again, Smuki!

Ok, this was done. But not the bedroom. On the opposite wall there was still a big empty space and in the living room we were short on bookshelf-space, so we decided to put up some shelves in the bedroom.

IMGP7257And now it looks much better with the new shelves and we love it!

IMGP7608Do you like the results? In the middle you can see the reproduction of my favorite painting: The nut gatherers (1882) by William Adolphe Bouguereau. I saw this painting and fall in love with it in the Detroit Institute of Arts. Good memories…

IMGP7611

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

