Birthday bib

My son turned one years old in September and I thought that I should make him something fun besides the gifts he got. We didn’t have a party for him for two reasons: 1. I don’t see the point for a one year old to have a party and 2. he and also my husband caught cold. (Don’t get me wrong, I love organizing parties!) And then the idea came to me to sew a birthday bib with a matching hat for him.

I used and other bib to make a sample out of paper. I cut the shape out twice, one out of an eggshell colored fabric and an other out of a brawn fabric. I also cut out a circle and the number “one”. See the picture below.

First I sewed the number onto the blue circle, this was a bit tricky on the edges but with a little patience you’ll succeed! Then I attached the circle onto the brown fabric.

Next I sewed together the two bib-shaped fabrics with a blue ribbon on the edge and finally I attached small velcro on top. It’s really not a complicated project and it requires only an hour, a bit of patience and some leftover fabrics. For the hat I just used paper for the base and I glued onto it the blue and white fabrics. As I thought my son didn’t really like the idea of the hat, that’s why I didn’t make it more permanent.

Look at the results, how cute is that?

 

 

Leave a Reply

